The Audiovisual Surveillance Technology (AVST) Operational Group is charged with:

  • Establishing and maintaining the evaluation criteria for location and deployment of AVST equipment to balance the need for security and utility with the privacy of students, staff and faculty.
  • Creating and maintaining the AVST operational standards under the guidance of the Associate Vice President for IT & Chief Information Security Officer (CISO), in consultation with the University Privacy Officer, and in alignment with applicable Rules, SAPs, and security controls.
  • Reviewing and approving requests for audiovisual surveillance technology on the Texas A&M University campus to ensure compliance with evaluation criteria and AVST operational standards.
  • Reviewing complaints regarding the use or placement of AVST and recommending any corrective action to the larger Security and Policies Committee (SPC).
  • Providing input to the SPC regarding the creation, review, and approval of new or modified Rules, SAPs and security controls related to surveillance.
  • Provide recommendations to the CISO (or designee) regarding the use of AVST.


The role of AVST is outlined in Texas A&M University Standard Administrative Procedure 29.01.03.M0.06—Audiovisual Surveillance, which also establishes membership composition. Membership shall be composed (at minimum) of representatives of the following units:

  • Associate Vice President for IT & Chief Information Security Officer (CISO)
  • University Privacy Officer
  • University Police Department (UPD)
  • Human Resources
  • Student Affairs
  • Office of General Counsel (OGC)
  • Transportation Services
  • Students (SGA)
  • Faculty Senate
  • Staff Council

Members representing these groups shall be appointed by the head of the respective unit and shall serve for a term of two years. Additional members may be appointed to one-year terms by the CISO.

The subcommittee shall annually select from amongst their membership an individual to serve as the chair of the subcommittee. This chairperson shall also serve as an ex-officio member on the Security and Policies Committee.

Members as of May 2019

Staff Member Name College/Unit Representation

David Sustaita

Technology Services

Lon Berquist

Technology Services

Jerry Brown

Office of General Counsel (OGC)

Richard Hutchinson

Faculty Senate

Jennifer Kuehn

Staff Council

Justin Ellison

Student Affairs

Desiree Donovan Murph

University Police Department (UPD)

Bobby Richardson

University Police Department (UPD)

Dell Hamilton

Transportation Services

Courtney Charanza

Human Resources & Organizational Effectiveness