Meeting Schedule:
9:00 AM -11:00 AM every 1st Thursday in September, November, February, April, & June

About EITC

The Emerging and Innovative Technologies Committee (EITC) will Review and make recommendations on emerging and innovative technologies to support the functioning of the University; advance the development, knowledge, and application of emerging and innovative technologies; encourage the reporting and discussion of technical and social issues, and information transfer of applications of emerging and innovative technologies; and to foster the multi-disciplinary use of these technologies.

Committee Information

Standing Subcommittees

Focus Groups that will be reviewing innovative technologies such as AI, or other technologies that are on the horizon that we should be investigating.


No agendas yet this year.

View all agendas

Minutes *

No minutes yet this year.

View all minutes
* Minutes may be redacted for security reasons


There are no documents.


No decisions have been posted yet.



  • Rodger Paxton II - University Police Representative
  • Debbie Lollar - Transportation Services Representative
  • Jeff Lowry - University Staff Council Representative
  • Wyatt Buchanan - Division of Human Resources and Organizational Effectiveness Representative
  • Shane Hinkley - Division of Finance Representative
  • John Kovacevich - TAMU Galveston Representative
  • Xiyao Huang - School of Law Representative
  • James Caverlee - Faculty Member Representative
  • Lucia Lopez - Higer Education Center at McAllen
  • Marc Huffstickler - Technology Services Representative
  • Zachary Tanton - Technology Services Representative

Ex-Officio Members

  • Michael Leary - Chief Technology Officer

Committee Scope

  • TBD



  • TBD

Ex-Officio Members

  • Michael Leary - Chief Technology Officer

Terms and Procedures

Chairperson. A chairperson shall be elected during the first meeting of each year, serving a one-year term that begins during the September EITC meeting. In the case of the initial implementation of the IT Governance framework, a chair shall be elected during the September meeting.

Chair Elect. A chair elect shall be elected during the first meeting of each year. The chair elect acts as the co-chair for the committee and serves a one-year term that begins during the September EITC meeting, followed by a one-year term as the chair.

Member Terms. Each member shall serve a term of one year (unless designated for a two-year term) beginning in the month of September and ending in the month of July, for a total attendance of five meetings in addition to related EITC events that occur during the term. The chair elect may request up to five members for a second term to ensure continuity of experience in the committee.

Ex-Officio Members: The Chief Information Security Officer and Chief Technology Officer shall serve as ex-officio members.

Meeting Procedures

Meeting Frequency. The EITC meets on the first Thursday of September, November, February, April, and June. The committee will determine modifications to the meeting schedule as needed based on current activities.

Time Commitment. In addition to the scheduled meetings, members can expect to spend 2-4 hours between the quarterly meetings via correspondence methods reviewing related material and handling more routine matters via electronic methods utilized for decision-making. In order to operationally maintain a quarterly cadence, members are required to pre-read documents relating to issues prior to attending the meeting.

Meeting structure. The Office of the CIO will collect and confirm agenda items with the Chairperson and Co-Chairperson in advance of each meeting to ensure informed discussion of scheduled topics. Staff will be available to aid in the facilitation and documentation of the meetings.

Reporting. The Office of the CIO will report on decisions and maintain electronic communication mediums for distributing University-wide information for the CSCC.

Documentation of proceedings. All meetings will have minutes of discussions, decisions, and action items that are published within 2 weeks of the proceeding.

Questions about IT Governance can be submitted to: